Skip to main content

Top 10 Super Flyweight Boxers of All Time Rankings

Ranking the best Super Flyweight Boxers of all time in boxing such as Juan Francisco Estrada, Gilberto Román, Johnny Tapia, and many more


By admin | May 8, 2022

Honorable Mention

Mark Johnson

Mark Johnson is a former American professional boxer, who competed between 1990 and 2006 He has held multiple world titles at super-flyweight. He held the IBF world title in 1999 and the WBO title in 2003.  Though he isn’t on our list, he deserves an honorable mention. 

Top 10 Super Flyweight Boxers

10. Román González

Román González is an active professional boxer from Nicaragua. He started his career in and currently competes in the super-flyweight division. 

Román González has won world titles in 4 different weight classes. He won the WBC super-flyweight title in 2016, and the WBA super-flyweight title in 2020. He was also the former unified WBC and The Ring flyweight champion. 

Currently Román González has a boxing record of 51 wins and 3 losses.

9. Srisaket Sor Rungvisai

Srisaket Sor Rungvisai is a professional boxer from Thailand. He started his professional career in 2009 and is currently active in the super-flyweight division. 

Srisaket Sor Rungvisaihas held multiple super-flyweight world championships. He is a 2-time WBC super-flyweight champion and has also held The Ring magazine and lineal super-flyweight titles. For his next fight, he will be fighting for the WBC title once again. 

As of now, Srisaket Sor Rungvisai has a boxing record of 50 wins and 5 losses.

8. Vic Darchinyan

Vic Darchinyan is an Armenian-born Australian former professional boxer who was active between 2000 to 2017. 

Darchinyan held multiple world titles in two different weight classes. He held the IBF and IBO titles at flyweight, and super-flyweight, he became the unified WBA, WBC, IBF, and lineal super flyweight champion. He briefly held the IBO super flyweight title as well. 

Darchinyan retired with a boxing record of 43 wins, 9 losses, and 1 draw.

7. Juan Francisco Estrada

Juan Fransisco Estrada is a Mexican professional boxer, who actively competes in the Super-flyweight division. He started his career in 2008. 

Juan Fransisco Estrada has held unified world titles in two weight classes. He is the current unified WBA(Super), and The Ring super featherweight champion and has defended the title 3 times. He has wins over multiple world champions in the division. Estrada is also the former Unified WBA and WBO flyweight champion. 

As of now, Juan Francisco Estrada has a boxing record of 42 wins and 3 losses.

6. Masamori Tokuyama

Masamori Tokuyama was a professional boxer, originally from North Korea, however, he lived in Japan, and later changed his nationality to South Korean. He competed between 1994 and 2006. 

Masamori Tokuyama was a 2-time WBC super flyweight champion. He won the title in 2000 and defended it 8 times before losing it to a Japanese fighter named Katsushige Kawashima. However, he won back the title in a rematch, and defended it one more, before retiring as the champion. 

Masamori Tokuyama retired with a record of 32 wins, 3 losses, and 1 draw.

5. Sung Kil Moon

Sung Kil Moon was a professional boxer from South Korea, and he was active between 1987 and 1993.

Sung Kil Moon held world titles in two different weight classes, and at super flyweight, he reigned as the WBC and lineal champion. He won the WBC super-flyweight title after defeating Nana Yaw Konadu and continued to defend it 8 times before losing it. Sung Kil Moon defended the title against former champion Gilberto Román as well. 

He retired in 1993, with a boxing record of 20 wins and 2 losses.

4. Jiro Watanabe

Jiro Watanabe is a former Japanese professional boxer, who remained active between1982 and 1985. He was one of the first super-flyweight champions after the division was inaugurated in 1980. 

Watanabe held the WBA and WBC super-flyweight titles on different occasions. He defended the WBA title 7 times, and the WBC title 4 times. He also defeated many champions and high-level boxers of the time competing in Japan and South Korea. 

He retired with a boxing record of 26 wins and 2 losses.

3. Gilberto Román

Gilberto Román is a former professional boxer from Mexico, and he competed between 1981 and 1990. 

Gilberto Román was a two-time WBC and Linial Super flyweight champion of the world. Between his two title reigns, he defended the titles a total of 11 times, against the best fighters of the time. Román was also part of the Mexican Olympics team. 

He retired with an impressive boxing record of 54 wins and 6 losses, with 1 draw.

2. Khaosai Galaxy

At number 2, we have Khaosai Galaxy, a former professional boxer, and Muay Thai fighter from Thailand. He competed between 1980 and 1991. 

Khaosai Galaxy was the WBA super-flyweight champion of the world, and he defended his title an impressive 19 times, before retiring as the world champion. He was one of the biggest boxing stars to come out of Thailand. 

Khaosai Galaxy retired with a boxing record of 47 wins and only one loss. He was inducted into the international boxing hall of fame in 1999.

1. Johnny Tapia

On the top of our list of all-time super flyweight greats, we have Johnny Tapia. He was an American boxer, who was active from 1988 to 2011. 

Tapia held multiple world titles in three different weight classes, with unified titles in two of them. At super-flyweight, he became the unified IBF and WBO world champion. After winning the WBO super-flyweight title first, he defended it 11 times, before winning the IBF title as well. He defended the unified title twice before moving to bantamweight, where he also became a unified champion

Tapia retired with a boxing record of 59 wins, 5 losses, and 2 draws. He was inducted into the international boxing hall of fame in 2017. 

How would you rank these Super Flyweight fighters in boxing history? Your Fan Rankings will be added to our Power Rankings as well. Join the contest by ranking below.

Related Links:

Leave a comment

Players Count 10
  1. Ben Villaflor

    Super FW All-Time
  2. Érik Morales

    Super FW All-Time
  3. Kid Chocolate

    Super FW All-Time
  4. Alexis Arguello

    Super FW All-Time
  5. Floyd Mayweather

    Super FW All-Time
  6. Azumah Nelson

    Super FW All-Time
  7. Manny Pacquiao

    Super FW All-Time
  8. Brian Mitchell

    Super FW All-Time
  9. Julio César Chávez

    Super FW All-Time
  10. Gabriel Elorde

    Super FW All-Time
Selected Players

Top 10 NHL Black Hockey Players 2022 Rankings

“Hockey is for Everyone” In this edition of the Fan...

February 5, 2022

Top 10 NFL Outside Linebackers of All Time Rankings

The defensive side of the football is built with a...

October 20, 2021

Top 10 Outside Linebackers in NFL 2021 Rankings

When we look at outside linebackers in the NFL we...

August 27, 2021

Top 10 NFL Best Middle Linebackers of All Time Rankings

Before we get into the Best Middle Linebackers of All...

October 23, 2021

Thank you

Your email has been successfully subscribed.

Who wins between Devin Haney vs Ryan Garcia

Devin Haney - 1 Votes

Ryan Garcia - 0 Votes

Total Voters: 1

Loading ... Loading ...

Mobile For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode