Skip to main content

Top 10 Strawweight Boxers – December 2021 Rankings

Ranking the best Mini-Flyweight / Minimumweight / Strawweight boxers in the world big wins from Masataka Taniguchi becoming the new WBO Strawweight Champion and Knockout CP Freshmart retaining his WBA (Super) Strawweight Title


By fan rankings | December 16, 2021

Honorable Mention

Yudai Shigeoka

Yudai Shigeoka is a Japanese boxer with a professional record of 4-0, and he seems like a legit contender in the division. However, he needs some more fights to break into the rankings.

Melvin Jerusalem

Melvin Jerusalem is a  Filipino professional boxer, with a professional record of 17 wins and 2 losses, and he also deserves an honorable mention.

Top 10 Strawweights

10. Ginjiro Shigeoka

Ginjiro Shigeoka is a Japanese professional boxer, with an undefeated record of 6-0. 

Though Shigeoka only has six professional fights under his belt, he is one of the best active fighters in the division, and he is also the current WBO Asia Pacific Mini-Flyweight champion. 

In his last fight, he defeated Toshiki Kawamitsu via 2nd round TKO, and as of now, there is no official announcement about his next fight.

9. Ayanda Ndulani

Title(s): IBO Minimumweight World Champion

Ayanda Ndulani is a South African Boxer with a professional record of 12-2-1. 

Ayanda Ndulani is the current IBO Minimumweight champion, a title which he won earlier this year, and has defended once since.

In his most recent fight, Ndulani defeated Siphamandla Balenii via Split decision and as of now, there is no official announcement about his next fight. 

8. Pedro Taduran

Pedro Taduran is a Filipino professional boxer, with a professional record of  14 wins, 3 losses, and 1 draw. 

Taduran is the former IBF Mini-Flyweight champion, he won the title after defeating Samuel Salva and held it from 2019 to February 2021. In his most recent fight, Taduran lost the title to the current champion Rene Mark Cuarto. His next fight has not been announced yet. 

7. Vic Saludar

Title(s): WBA (Regular) Strawweight World Champion

Victorio Saludar is another Boxer from the Philippines. He has a professional record of 21 wins and 4 losses. 

Saludar is the former WBO Mini-Flyweight champion. He defeated Ryuya Yamanaka to win the title and held it from 2018 to 2019.  Saludar also currently holds the WBA (Regular) Mini-Flyweight title which he won in February 2021.

He defeated Robert Paradero in his most recent fight via split decision, and his next fight is against  Erick Rosa next week on 21st December. 

6. Wilfredo Méndez

Next up, we have Wilfredo Méndez from Puerto Rico. The professional boxer has a record of 16-2. Méndez is the former WBO Mini Flyweight champion. He won the title after defeating Vic Saludar back in 2019.

In his last fight, which happened earlier this week, he lost to Masataka Taniguchi via an 11th round TKO. Got dropped in the second round as well, and from there it was a slippery slope till the eleventh. 

5. Masataka Taniguchi

Title(s): WBO Strawweight World Champion

Masataka Taniguchi is a professional boxer from Japan with a record of 15 wins and 3 losses. 

He is also the current WBO Mini-Flyweight champion, and won the title a couple of days ago, after defeating the former Poertorican champion, Wilfredo Méndez. Taniguchi was the underdog in the fight but had a very impressive performance. 

He took the fight to the former champ and dropped him in the second round. He kept dominating the fight and in the eleventh round, the ref stopped the fight, declaring Taniguchi the winner by TKO. 

4. Rene Mark Cuarto

Title(s): IBF Strawweight World Champion

The next fighter on this list is also from the Philippines. Rene Mark Cuarto is a professional boxer with a record of 19 wins, 2 losses, and 2 draws. 

Cuarto also is the current IBF Mini-Flyweight champion. He won the title after defeating Pedro Taduran in his most recent fight which happened in February of this year. Cuarto’s next fight has not been announced yet. 

3. Wanheng Menayothin

At number three, we have one of the most decorated active Boxers in the Mini-Flyweight division. Wanheng Menayothin is a Thai professional boxer, and one of the longest-reigning champions in the division, with a record of 55 wins and only 1 loss. 

Menayothin won the WBC strawweight title back in 2014, and held it for six years, defending it 12 times, after which he lost the title to Petchmanee Kokietgym. He won his last fight against Chinnawat Rempit and his next bout is a rematch against Petchmanee Kokietgym.

2. Petchmanee Kokietgym

Title(s): WBC Strawweight World Champion

Panya Pradabsri or as he is better known Petchmanee Kokietgym is another Thai fighter, and he makes it at number 2 on our list. Kokietgym has one of the most extensive boxing records in the division, with 37 victories and only 1 defeat. 

Pradabsri has also held the WBC Mini-Flyweight title since 2020. He won the title after defeating Wanheng Menayothin, who was one of the most accomplished boxers in the division. 

He defeated Danai Ngiabphukhiaw in his most recent fight, and his next bout is going to be a rematch against Wanheng Menayothin on Jan 25, 2022.

1. Knockout CP Freshmart

Title(s): WBA (Super) Strawweight World Champion

At the top of our list, we have Thammanoon Niyomtrong, who is also from Thailand. He is more commonly known as Knockout CP Freshmart and has an undefeated professional boxing record with 23 wins and no losses. 

Niyomtrong is the current WBA (Super) Mini-Flyweight champion. He won the WBA title after defeating Byron Rojas back in 2016. He defended the title seven times before being promoted to WBA (Super) champion, which he has defended three times. 

A couple of days ago, he defended his title against Robert Paradero and won the fight via knockout. The fourth round was the most competitive, in which Paradero was dropped twice, and Knockout was dropped once. However, he came back in the fifth to score a TKO win.

How would you rank these Contenders and Champions? Rank below to be added in the Power Rankings and to have a chance to win a gift card to LAZADA, Amazon,, or more that is specific to you. Your Fan Rankings will be added to our Power Rankings as well. Join the contest by ranking below.


Related Links:

Leave a comment

Players Count 0
Selected Players

Top 10 NHL Black Hockey Players 2022 Rankings

“Hockey is for Everyone” In this edition of the Fan...

February 5, 2022

Top 10 NFL Outside Linebackers of All Time Rankings

The defensive side of the football is built with a...

October 20, 2021

Top 10 Outside Linebackers in NFL 2021 Rankings

When we look at outside linebackers in the NFL we...

August 27, 2021

Top 10 NFL Best Middle Linebackers of All Time Rankings

Before we get into the Best Middle Linebackers of All...

October 23, 2021

Thank you

Your email has been successfully subscribed.

Who wins between Devin Haney vs Ryan Garcia

Devin Haney - 1 Votes

Ryan Garcia - 0 Votes

Total Voters: 1

Loading ... Loading ...

Mobile For an optimal experience please
rotate your device to portrait mode